*Some links on this page may be affiliate links. For more information refer to our Privacy Policy.

Pennsylvania Loan Officer Standards & Requirements

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) established requirements for the licensing and registration of all Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs.) Below you will find the profession requirements needed to become a state-licensed mortgage loan officer, please use the links for additional information on subject matter:

Criminal Background Check – Fingerprints will need to be submitted through NMLS for an FBI criminal background check.

Education – Please see Pennsylvania Education Requirements below.

Testing – Required to pass National and State components of the SAFE MLO Test.

Credit Report – Applicants will have a credit report run through NMLS.


Pennsylvania Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

Pennsylvania requires all new state-licensed MLOs to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. Below shows a breakdown of hours needed for each section:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, which entails, instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 9 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 3 hours of Pennsylvania specific education

Pennsylvania requires 3 hours of instruction on state-specific law; either taking a PA comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course will satisfy this, new MLOs will also be tested on Pennsylvania mortgage-lending law. To get started with your mandatory education requirements please refer to our NMLS approved course.

Continuing Education Requirements

All active state-licensed MLOs are required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education yearly.  Below is a break down of sections that must be covered in continuing education:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 2 hours of ethics, which entails, instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Pennsylvania specific education

Please note that MLOs are not able to take the same NMLS approved courses two years in a row, as the NMLS will not count that toward their continuing education requirements. Known as the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule. Our NMLS approved continuing education makes sure every year we provide you a new course so you never run into this problem


Pennsylvania Loan Officer License Requirements

3 thoughts on “Pennsylvania Loan Officer License Requirements

  • December 12, 2018 at 2:30 PM

    Good Evening, I am interested in taking some MLO courses in the state of PA, however I am not sure what agencies or institutions offer them. I wanted to know if someone can provide me and guide me with such information ? Also is it better to take the courses in person or online ?

    Does Century 21 real estate offer MLO courses ?

  • February 12, 2020 at 5:26 PM

    Where do you take the course to become a loan officer?
    Thank you

    • February 13, 2020 at 9:27 AM

      Hi William, please check your email we reached out to you with information, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *