Nevada Loan Officer Standards & Requirements

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) established requirements for the licensing and registration of all Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs.) Below you will find the profession requirements needed to become a state-licensed mortgage loan officer, please use the links for additional information on subject matter:

Criminal Background Check – Fingerprints will need to be submitted through NMLS for an FBI criminal background check.

Education – Please see Nevada Education Requirements below.

Testing – Required to pass National and State components of the SAFE MLO Test.

Credit Report – Applicants will have a credit report run through NMLS.


Nevada Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

Nevada requires all new state-licensed MLOs to complete 30 hours of NMLS approved education. Below shows a breakdown of hours needed for each section:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, which entails, instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 18 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 4 hours of Nevada specific education

Nevada requires 4 hours of instruction on state-specific law; either taking a NV comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course will satisfy this, new MLOs will also be tested on Nevada mortgage-lending law. To get started with your mandatory education requirements please refer to our NMLS approved course.


Continuing Education Requirements

All active state-licensed MLOs are required to complete at least 10 hours of NMLS approved education yearly.  Below is a break down of sections that must be covered in continuing education:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 2 hours of ethics, which entails, instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 3 hour of Nevada specific education

Please note that MLOs are not able to take the same NMLS approved courses two years in a row, as the NMLS will not count that toward their continuing education requirements. Known as the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule. Our NMLS approved continuing education makes sure every year we provide you a new course so you never run into this problem.


Nevada Loan Officer License Requirements

4 thoughts on “Nevada Loan Officer License Requirements

  • August 20, 2017 at 3:56 PM

    Is a diploma required to get your Loan Officer license? And do you have to have a real estate license also?

    • September 16, 2017 at 3:11 AM

      A diploma is not required but you must be a least 18 years of age. Some states require you to also obtain a real estate license. We recommend you reach out to State licensing department in which you are trying to acquire your license for.

  • January 18, 2018 at 12:33 PM

    I am going to get my license to become a LO. Do you have any recommendations,for schools? .I have experience in Wholesale and Retail Lending.

    • February 12, 2018 at 2:43 PM

      Are school is great, we provide online classes and they can be found by selecting the State you wish to get licensed in from the map on this page


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *