*Some links on this page may be affiliate links. For more information refer to our Privacy Policy.

Maryland Loan Officer Standards & Requirements

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) established requirements for the licensing and registration of all Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs.) Below you will find the profession requirements needed to become a state-licensed mortgage loan officer, please use the links for additional information on subject matter:

Criminal Background Check – Fingerprints will need to be submitted through NMLS for an FBI criminal background check.

Education – Please see Maryland Education Requirements below.

Testing – Required to pass National and State components of the SAFE MLO Test.

Credit Report – Applicants will have a credit report run through NMLS.


Maryland Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

Maryland requires all new state-licensed MLOs to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education. Below shows a breakdown of hours needed for each section:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 3 hours of ethics, which entails, instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 7 hours of undefined instruction (electives)
  • 5 hours of Maryland specific education

Maryland requires 5 hours of instruction on state-specific law; either taking a MD comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course will satisfy this, new MLOs will also be tested on Maryland mortgage-lending law. To get started with your mandatory education requirements please refer to our NMLS approved course.


Continuing Education Requirements

All active state-licensed MLOs are required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education yearly.  Below is a break down of sections that must be covered in continuing education:

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations
  • 2 hours of ethics, which entails, instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues
  • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
  • 1 hour of Maryland specific education

Please note that MLOs are not able to take the same NMLS approved courses two years in a row, as the NMLS will not count that toward their continuing education requirements. Known as the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule. Our NMLS approved continuing education makes sure every year we provide you a new course so you never run into this problem.


Maryland Loan Officer License Requirements

4 thoughts on “Maryland Loan Officer License Requirements

  • July 10, 2018 at 5:00 PM

    I want to become a loan officer. Please provide institutions where I can take the training.

  • February 19, 2021 at 8:49 PM

    Once I do my finger prints for my Maryland loan officer license how many years back will the background check is it 7 or 10 years in Maryland?

    • March 1, 2021 at 8:53 PM

      Usually it is 7 years back but if you have a felony which includes money laundering or theft then it does not matter how long ago it happened they will not let you get licensed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *